Edmond Chamber Annual Awards Banquet

Posted by Zoe Mack on 01/02/2018

Awards to be announced at the banquet include:

 Ambassador of the Year

The Edmond Chamber Ambassadors are a group of dedicated volunteers who mentor Chamber members and attend ribbon cuttings, events and special meetings. The honor of Ambassador of the Year is awarded to the Chamber Ambassador who is able to make the highest number of goodwill calls, ribbon cuttings, and groundbreaking events throughout the year. The award is decided on a point-based system with participants earning points through their involvement. The Edmond Chamber is proud to announce that Michael Buoy with Bonanza Real Estate was named the 2017 Ambassador of the Year.  

 Volunteer of the Year

The Edmond Chamber has many volunteers that help with councils, committees, programs and events. Matthew Boydstun, Managing Director at Baggerley Funeral Home was recently named the 2017 Volunteer of the Year for his leadership and continuous dedication to the Edmond Chamber, as well as the community. Boydstun is a graduate of the Leadership Edmond program and serves in multiple facets of the Edmond Chamber such as the Board of Advisors, Total Resource Campaign, Government Relations Committee, Edmond Young Professionals Steering Committee, and has hosted Chamber networking events. The Edmond Chamber staff would like to say congratulations to Boydstun on a well-deserved award!

 Young Professional of the Year

This award is given to a young professional who demonstrates leadership, provides valuable service to their business or profession, gives back to their community, exhibits initiative and creativity and serves as a role model for young people, both personally and professionally. Danny Slusarchuk, CEO of Standards IT, is the winner of the 2017 Young Professional of the Year Award. He is a committed member of the Edmond Chamber and an inspiring young professional in the Edmond area.

 Small Business of the Year Finalists

The Small Business of the Year Award, now in its 16th year, honors small businesses that have made outstanding contributions to the Edmond economy and community. This year’s finalists include RadVine Strategies, Red Valley Landscape & Construction, and Martha Garzon DMD. RadVine is a digital marketing company. CEO and founder, Sean Conrad says, “We treat every client as though we own that business.” Red Valley Landscape is dedicated to quality. Owner, Mike Freeman says they first invest in their employees and that is how a business becomes successful. Martha Garzon is a Pediatric Dentist in Edmond. She loves having a local practice, where she invests in the community alongside her patients. Requirements for Small Business of the Year state that nominees must be an owner/partner/major shareholder of the business and be active in the day-to-day management and operation of the business. The business should also display leadership in business and community affairs, be actively involved in professional and/or trade associations and maintain equal opportunity employment. The winner will be announced at the banquet on January 26.

 Philanthropic Business of the Year

The Philanthropic Business of the Year Award honors a business that has made significant philanthropic contributions to the Edmond community. Applicants were judged based on the extent of services provided to the community, the impact these services had made, and the commitment that these businesses have shown over time. The 2017 finalists were J Dog Junk Removal, Earl’s Rib Palace, and Homes by Taber.

The winner of the 2017 Philanthropic Business of the Year is Homes by Taber. Homes by Taber has made sure to involve all employees in community service. All 63 employees have made 830 hours of community service possible just in 2017. After implementing the Taber Cares program 10 years ago, each manager meets with the different divisions within Homes by Taber to discuss and choose a non-profit to serve each year. In addition to community service hours, $250 from each home sold goes to a different charity each month. The charities chosen have never received less than $5,750 in just one month. Any non-profit can apply to be selected as charity of the month on the Homes by Taber website.

 Woman of the Year

The finalists for Prosperity Bank’s 2017 Woman of the Year award were: Jeanean South, Lissa Qualls, and Shannon Price. Shannon Price has been selected as Prosperity Bank’s 2017 Woman of the Year. Price has been the Executive Director at the Edmond Fine Arts Institute since 2013. Price values the importance of leading a life of integrity at home and in the Edmond community. Previous Executive Director, Mitzi Hancuff was Price’s mentor before taking over the role and speaks highly of her, “Wow, when Shannon took over, it was thriving… but look what it is after she’s been there.”

Citizen of the Year

The winner of this award must demonstrate one or more of the following to be selected: excellence in their profession, brought state or national acclaim to Edmond, been involved in activities for the betterment of Edmond or served through involvement with civic and service organizations.

Darci Lynne Farmer is the youngest person to win the Citizen of the Year award since the Chamber’s beginnings in 1907. She is also the youngest contestant ever to win “America’s Got Talent.” As an Oklahoma native, Darci Lynne remains close to her family for support and encouragement. She was introduced to ventriloquism and quickly wanted to try it out for herself. Determined, Darci auditioned for her first talent show only two weeks after having her first puppet. She is inspiring to all generations and continues to shine with every performance.

“Darci’s hard work and perseverance has earned this award, which is the highest honor that the Chamber awards. Although Darci is our youngest Citizen of the Year, we are certain that she is destined for many years of success,” said Chamber President and CEO, Sherry Jordan.

For more information or to RSVP for the Annual Banquet, please visit www.edmondchamber.com/events or call (405) 341-2808. The deadline to RSVP is January 22, 2018.